Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

MUNKEY JUNKEY Dissects Relationship Ups & Downs On New Single ‘Oo Aa Na’

10th June 2021

Birkenhead, UK-based producer and lofi hip hop newcomer MUNKEY JUNKEY (aka Kurran Karbal) is delighted to reveal the video for his new single ‘Oo Aa Na’ which is released 14th May 2021.

The track is the follow up to lead single ‘Kill My Ego’ which premiered with Rolling Stone India last month, and is the latest to be taken from his forthcoming debut album Bitter Chitta, which is set for release on 18th June 2021 (see below for tracklist and artwork).

Karbal says of the single: “‘Oo Aa Na’ is about the ups and downs of being in a long term relationship—it’s easy to slip into bad habits and this song is about checking my own behaviour. I can definitely be guilty of taking my girlfriend’s love for granted at times and of being irrational. This song was a way for me to poke fun at myself for acting like a monkey sometimes.”

Fresh from appearing at the UK’s first non-socially distanced gig for over a year supporting Blossoms as part of ZUZU’s live band, Munkey Junkey has just been announced to appear at this year’s FESTEVOL at Future Yard in Birkenhead on 3rd July 2021.

Merseyside artists The Mysterines, ZUZU and All We Are will headline the day long festival supported by a diverse line up of new and emerging artists from the region including Natalie McCool, Pixey, Peaness, Trudy & The Romance, LIINES, Seatbelts, The Heavy North, Hushtones, Zee Davine, NIIX, MiG15, The Merchants and Denio.

Tickets are on sale now from http://www.seetickets.com

Featuring several tracks co-written with Simon Tong (Gorillaz, The Verve), forthcoming debut album Bitter Chitta was recorded and self-produced at Karbal’s own studio in Birkenhead with his live band (Nathan Peers, Ben Truman and Corben Lamb) and Liverpool guitar-pop singer ZUZU, and mastered by Loic Gaillard at Liverpool’s legendary Motor Museum Studios.

“’Bitter Chitta’ is an oxymoron,” says Karbal of the album’s title. “’Chitta’ is a hindu term, basically referring to a higher dimension of yourself beyond identity and even beyond this universe. I’m basically saying ‘yeah, even that version of myself is bitter’,” he laughs.

Alongside releasing his own material, Karbal has recently wrapped up sessions behind the production desk for fellow Merseyside artists ZUZU and Gen and The Degenerates, as well as LA alt-pop star Rouxx’s new single ‘LO$ERS’ featuring MOD SUN.

Debut album Bitter Chitta is released 18th June 2021

Bitter Chitta tracklist:

1. Egress
2. Kill My Ego
3. Bury Her Bones
4. Oo Aa Na
5. On a Cloud
6. Karma’s a Bitch 
7. Delhi Glue Kids 
8. Someone 
9. Cats and Dawgs 
10. All I Need 
11. Sinful Enough 
12. Gray 
13. No Holidays
14. Redo 
15. Bitter Heart
16. Buzz

Live Dates:

03.07.21 – Birkenhead – Future Yard (FESTEVOL)