Wall of Sound PR

THE SPITFIRES REVEAL NEW ALBUM YEAR ZERO RELEASED 27th JULY via HATCH RECORDS

21st June 2018

Watford based 4-piece The Spitfires consist of songwriter Billy Sullivan on lead vocals and guitar, Sam Long on Bass/backing vocals, Matt Johnson on drums and George Moorhouse on keyboards. Taking in a wide range of influences, from reggae and ska through to punk and soul, this melting-pot of musical genres has helped infuse and consolidate the band’s own highly authentic sound and style into a progressive take for a new generation of fans.

The band have now announced their third album, Year Zero, to be released through Hatch Records on 27th July 2018 and will also be embarking on yet another extensive nationwide UK and Ireland tour in 2018/19.

‘I think Year Zero is our most confident and complete work to date,’ explains front man Billy Sullivan of the new material. ‘I feel like we captured exactly what we were looking for in terms of the sound, and lyrically I think it sums up the overall feeling of where we are today and the uncertainty of our generation’s future. Over a year in the making and with the addition of trombone and a guest female singer, I feel really we’ve been able to reach new heights on this record.’

Clearly focused on transcending the trite revivalist comparisons which the band have previously been subjected to by mainstream media, the new album finds Sullivan in outspoken and often emphatic form as he addresses the degradation of working class culture more openly than ever before, perhaps most notably on album opener ‘Remain The Same’ as he drawls: “I used to go into the town, but all the pubs have closed down … sometimes I feel like giving in, ‘cos I ain’t earning anything … don’t you ever apologise for being young and speaking your mind.”

On the new release Sullivan’s songwriting sees him exploring new soundscapes and styles whilst still retaining his deep love for ska, soul and guitar-driven music. Whether it’s on the unexpected dub cut of ‘Something Worth Fighting For’ or the piano-led ballad of ‘By My Side’ (sung with guest vocalist Emily Capell) it’s clear that The Spitfires won’t be told what they can and can’t do, and are pushing their sound into unexpected and exciting new directions.

With their on-going battle for recognition as a loud, proud working-class voice, it seems as if the band have successfully emerged as a politically-charged, grass-roots movement that won’t wait for permission to take their music, and their message, across the country and into the heartlands of the crumbling towns and inner-city communities that their music is built from.

To date, The Spitfires have released two albums; Response was released in 2015 and A Thousand Times in 2016. Both albums peaked at Number 6 in the Independent charts and also dented the national Top 75. The Spitfires also hit Number 1 in the UK Vinyl Singles Chart with ‘So Long’ back in April 2016.
As well as supporting the likes of The Specials, Paul Weller and The Skids, the band have also played to vast audiences at The Isle of Wight, Reading and Y Not Festivals over the last couple of summers. The Spitfires also recently made their national TV debut on BBC’s Andrew Marr Show, waking up Sunday morning viewers with a blistering version of ‘Stand Down’.

The band’s work ethic and acute social commentary has made this fiercely independent band one of the most popular underground success stories in the UK today. Their attitude and independent spirit has earned them a dedicated and loyal following across the whole of the UK and Europe.

Year Zero is released 27th July 2018 via Hatch Records

The Spitfires 2018/19 Live Dates:

Fri 05 Oct – Southend, Chinnerys
Sat 06 Oct – Norwich, Arts Centre
Fri 02 Nov – Dover, Booking Hall
Sat 03 Nov – Brighton, Patterns
Fri 09 Nov – Leamington Spa, Zephyr Lounge
Sat 10 Nov – London, Islington Assembly Hall
Thu 15 Nov – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
Fri 16 Nov – Glasgow, Broadcast
Sat 17 Nov – Edinburgh, Mash House
Fri 23 Nov – Bristol, Fiddlers
Sat 24 Nov – Exeter, Cavern
Thu 29 Nov – Newcastle, Cluny
Fri 30 Nov – Carlisle, Old Fire Station
Fri 07 Dec – Leeds, Hi Fi Club
Sat 08 Dec – Northampton, Roadmender
Fri 25 Jan – Belfast, Limelight 2
Sat 26 Jan – Dublin, Workman’s Club
Fri 08 Feb – Sheffield, Plug
Sat 09 Feb – Manchester, Gorilla
Fri 15 Feb – Hull, Fruit
Sat 16 Feb – York, Fibbers
Fri 22 Feb – Cardiff, The Globe
Sat 23 Feb – Liverpool, O2 Academy 2