Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

BEACH RIOT Reveal Details Of Debut Album Subatomic Party Cool

10th September 2021

Brighton fuzz pop quartet BEACH RIOT are delighted to announce the details of their forthcoming debut album Subatomic Party Cool, set for release on 17th September 2021 via Alcopop! Records (see below for track list and artwork).

To celebrate the news, the band have also revealed a video for their new single ‘Wraith’, which is released on 10th August 2021.

Beach Riot’s rescheduled November/December 2021 UK album tour dates are on sale now (see below for listings).

The track is the latest to be taken from the album, following on from previous singles ‘Wrong Impression’, ‘Blush’, and ‘Sofa Surfer’, which have seen the band steadily building momentum over the past year, having added BBC Radio One’s Jack Saunders and BBC 6music’s Tom Robinson to their rapidly growing list of supporters.

Commenting on the single, the band said: “Jonny hits the hi hats so fast on this one that his hands are actually playing 5 seconds in the future compared to the rest of his body. Also it’s a song about your life force being slowly drained away in a fading relationship and there’s nothing you can do about it but watch and brace yourself.”

Subatomic Party Cool was recorded in 2020 and produced by Ally Jowett at his home studio in Brighton, with matters complicated somewhat by the recent global pandemic.

“We’d heard a track Ally had worked on with another band and we immediately just said ‘that’s the guy!’,” says bassist Jim of working with the producer. “Rory and Cami would visit Ally at home where he has a newly built studio. We were mid pandemic so I missed out on studio fun times and blasted my bass takes out in the midnight hours at home. All my backing vocals were recorded in a shed. Or to be more precise, Rory’s coffee shack where he works!”

So far making their name with a particular brand of fuzzed up pop rock, Subatomic Party Cool sees heavier and more disparate elements creeping in at the edges, something that guitarist and vocalist Rory attributes mostly to production decisions, as he explains: “I definitely wanted to move away from just big old crashing cymbals over a rock riff. I’m obsessed with a fuzzy chunky monster riff juxtaposed with a pop tambourine instead of cymbals, and some repetitive school playground melody.”

When it comes to subject matter, Jim’s songwriting springs mostly from a well of notes of encouragement and consolation “addressed to myself and anyone else who finds themselves in the same boat of life’s woes.”

Hotly tipped for the 2020 live circuit pre-pandemic, the quartet have previously played Reading & Leeds Festival 2018 and Truck Festival 2019

Press support from Kerrang! Magazine, CLASH, MOJO, The iNewspaper, Louder Than War and LOUDER has been bolstered by a #12 spot on the Amazing Radio Chart, an evening playlist addition from XS Manchester, plus key radio spins from Huw Stephens and Daniel P Carter at BBC Radio OneJohn Kennedy at Radio XBBC Scotland’s Vic GallowayTotal Rock, legendary US station KEXP, and BBC introducing.

Beach Riot’s debut album Subatomic Party Cool is released 17th September 2021 via Alcopop! Records

2021 UK Subatomic Party Cool Tour Dates:

24 – Milton Keynes – Craufurd Arms
25 – Newcastle – Head of Steam
26 – Inverness – Mad Hatters
27 – Glasgow – The Hug & Pint
30 – Edinburgh – Sneaky Pete’s

1 – Manchester – Gullivers
2 – Liverpool – Jimmy’s
3 – Leeds – Hyde Park Book Club
4 – Blackpool – Bootleg Social
7 – Sheffield – Record Junkee
8 – Leicester – The Cookie
9 – Birmingham – Dead Wax
10 – Bristol – The Lanes
11 – Guildford – The Boileroom
14 – Norwich – Voodoo Daddy’s
15 – London – The Lexington
16 – Brighton – The Prince Albert

Subatomic Party Cool tracklist:

1. B.A.D
2. Wrong Impression
3. Good To Know (That I’m Still On Your Mind)
4. Modern Dinosaur
5. Wraith
6. Unrequited Love
7. Medicate For Success
8. Faze
9. Sofa Surfer
10. She’s A Hurricane
11. Blush
12. Serial Scruff

Tagged: Beach Riot