Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

BEACH RIOT Shake Up Their Sound On New Single ‘Sofa Surfer’

26th March 2021

Brighton fuzz pop quartet BEACH RIOT are proud to present their new single ‘Sofa Surfer’ which is out now via Alcopop! Records on all good digital service providers.

Stream and share: https://backl.ink/144703463

A marked departure from their usual pedal-to-the-metal approach to overdriven desert/surf rock, the new track shows a tantalising glimpse of the variety in their sound on forthcoming debut album Subatomic Party Cool, set for release Summer 2021 on Alcopop! Records.

The album will be their first full release since the 2018 Beach Riot EP, with further details TBA over the coming months.

Commenting on the single, the band said: “‘Sofa Surfer’ is about fallen angels, time and space, fact and fiction, the difference between perceived good and perceived bad, and it challenges them all—Icarus as a woman, the devil being the way he is because he was ejected from heaven for being too punk. That kinda thing, you know, just your typical pop song really.”

The band have also launched an exclusive competition for fans to win a one-of-a-kind deluxe Sofa Surfer bundle which includes: a custom Beach Riot surfboard, a pair of VANS authentics in your size, a drop of the band’s own Blush beer, plus Beach Riot vinyl and merch.

To enter,simply purchase a ticket for the rescheduled Nov/Dec 2021 UK Headline Tour Dates from www.wearebeachriot.com and send proof of purchase to beachriot.sofasurfer@gmail.com – existing ticket holders are also eligible.

Having added BBC Radio One’s Jack Saunders and BBC 6music’s Tom Robinson to their growing list of supporters with previous single ‘Blush’, Beach Riot’s rescheduled November/December 2021 UK album tour dates on sale now (see below for listings).

Hotly tipped for the 2020 live circuit before the pandemic, the quartet have previously played Reading & Leeds Festival 2018 and Truck Festival 2019.

Press support from Kerrang! Magazine, CLASH, MOJO, The iNewspaper, Louder Than War and LOUDER has been bolstered by a #12 spot on the Amazing Radio Chart, an evening playlist addition from XS Manchester, plus key radio spins from Huw Stephens and Daniel P Carter at BBC Radio One, John Kennedy at Radio X, BBC Scotland’s Vic Galloway, Total Rock, legendary US station KEXP, and BBC introducing

Previous stand alone singles ‘Wrong Impression’, ‘Tune In, Drop Out’ and ‘Robot’ have racked up over 200k plays on Spotify to date.

Beach Riot’s debut album Subatomic Party Cool is released summer 2021 via Alcopop! Records

2021 UK Subatomic Party Cool Tour Dates:

24 – Milton Keynes – Craufurd Arms
25 – Tynemouth – Surf Cafe
26 – Inverness – Mad Hatters
27 – Glasgow – The Hug & Pint
30 – Edinburgh – Sneaky Pete’s

1 – Manchester – Gullivers
2 – Liverpool – Jimmy’s
3 – Leeds – Hyde Park Book Club
4 – Blackpool – Bootleg Social
7 – Sheffield – Record Junkee
8 – Leicester – The Cookie
9 – Birmingham – Dead Wax
10 – Bristol – The Lanes
11 – Guildford – The Boileroom
14 – Norwich – Voodoo Daddy’s
15 – London – The Lexington
16 – Brighton – The Prince Albert

Tagged: Beach Riot