Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

BLACK SURF Honour The Lemonheads On New Single ‘Eleven Dando (Good Time)’

17th April 2019

London alternative-rock trio BLACK SURF are pleased to present their new single ‘Eleven Dando’ which is out now on all good digital service providers.

The band’s forthcoming new EP Make Friends is set for release on 15th May 2019 and is the first of two brand new EPs scheduled for release this year, with a special EP release show at O2 Academy Islington in London on 25th May 2019. Further live dates TBA.

Commenting on the single, front man Ali Epstone said: “For my 10th birthday my babysitter made me a mixtape and the first track was by Evan Dando. This was my first introduction to alternative music and would be the catalyst to shape my musical taste and direction forever. I met Dando, just by chance, in a shop before The Lemonheads’ sold out gig in London last month. I couldn’t get a ticket and he was cool enough to put me on his guest list. 

“You can hear the sunshine, urgency and unpredictability in Dando’s music. Over the years he’s been the soundtrack to blissed-out fuzzy memories of youth, freedom and general good times, and I wanted to honour the influence and inspiration he’s had on our sound, somehow. So here’s Eleven Dando to say thanks for the inspiration.”

Recorded at Greenmount Studios, the EP was produced by Lee Smith & Jamie Lockhart, mixed by Lee Smith, and mastered by Tom Woodhead at Hippocratic Mastering.

The new material is the first from the band since their 2016 debut album Let’s Pretend It’s Summer, which received rave reviews from a diverse spread of press including Goldflakepaint, The 405, Rock Sound, BBC introducing, Total Guitar, Classic Rock, New Noise Magazine and more.

Bridging the gap between the unorthodox breaks of Grouplove and the hook-heavy passion of Weezer, Black Surf are an intriguing alternative rock melting pot. The new material finds them further exploring their sound, notably with the introduction of electronic music soundscapes and elements of high-concept outsider pop.

Since the formation of the band, they have shared the stage with Lonely The Brave, Dune Rats, Francobollo, Le Butcherettes, DZ Deathrays and many more, with their accomplished live show being the perfect platform to experience their increasingly well-crafted down-tempo rock.

Further details of Make Friends will be revealed over the coming weeks.


25.5.19 – London – 02 Academy, Islington

Tickets available at www.blacksurf.co.uk 

Make Friends tracklist:

1. Into The Night
2. Open Fire
3. Eleven Dando (Good Time)
4. Major Regiment