Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

BONNIESONGS Streams New Single ‘Coo Coo’ Out Now

5th September 2019

Bonniesongs, aka Bonnie Stewart, is pleased to reveal her new single ‘Coo Coo’—the latest track to be taken from the Australia-based Irish art-folk virtuoso’s forthcoming debut album Energetic Mind, set for release on Small Pond Records in the UK on 6th September 2019. Aussie experimental music label Art As Catharsis will be handling the release Down Under.

In support of the new record, Stewart recently announced a rare run ofSeptember 2019 UK tour dates supporting label-mate Natalie Evans (see below for full listings) with tickets on sale now.

A highly addictive loop-driven hypnotic track with simple, minimal lyrical content. Stewart wrote ‘Coo Coo’ while playing around with her trusty TC Helicon Voicelive Touch 2 loop station, which is integral to her unique sound. The only track on the album not produced and recorded by David Trumpmanis, ‘Coo Coo’ was produced by Stewart’s friend Dave Kempton (aka “Other Dave”).

“I was getting frustrated having not recorded or released anything a few years ago,” explains Stewart, “and Dave offered to record a couple tracks at his home. I came over and recorded this track one afternoon, then, when it came to putting down the album, we decided to just use this recording and layer some drums and bass synth.”

Commenting on the single, she says: “‘I was testing out having multiple tracks and seeing what was possible. I love getting a kinda dark grungy odd metre riff and layering it with smooth simple vocals. I also wanted to play around rhythmically with the vocals, as looping allows me to create more complicated ideas than I can do live. My favourite part is the off-beat: ‘Don’t forget about me, I could be anybody, I don’t mind…’ It’s a simple idea but has this really cool effect of cross rhythmic patterns because of the 5/8 guitar riff.”

“While writing this I was visualising a cuckoo bird coming out of a cuckoo clock and just having a good time. The theme is a bit open to interpretation but maybe it suggest feelings of freedom, escapism, liberation, and identity.”

Previous singles ‘Ice Cream’, ‘Barbara’, and ‘Frank’ picked up international radio plays from Amazing Radio, Triple J, FBi Radio, and RTRFM, with press coverage from Paste Magazine, London In Stereo, The 405, The Line of Best Fit, CLASH, Crack in The Road, For The Rabbits, Nialler 9, Joe.ie, The Thin Air, Tone Deaf, Everything Is Noise, A Closer Listen, Overdrive Magazine, and a whole host more.

Energetic Mind is released 6th September 2019 via Small Pond Records (UK) and Art As Catharsis (AUS)

Bonniesongs live w/ Natalie Evans:

18.09.19 – Leicester – The Cookie
19.09.19 – London – The Islington
20.09.19 – Bristol – Cafe Kino
21.09.19 – Cardiff – The Dojo, Pontcanna
22.09.19 – Manchester – Castle Hotel
23.09.19 – Leeds – LS6
24.09.19 – Canterbury – Bramleys
25.09.19 – Brighton – Nowhere Man

Tagged: Bonniesongs