Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

DECAY Announce Debut Album ‘Staring At The Sun’

15th May 2020

Liverpool post-hardcore band DECAY are very pleased to announce they will release their debut full length album, Staring At The Sun, on 10th July 2020 via all good digital service providers, with the record also available on vinyl via Fox Records

‘Comfortable’, released today, is the first new material to be shared by the band since their 2019 EP Modern Conversation. In true Decay fashion, the track is quick to the trigger, and instantly captivating. Watch the accompanying music video here: https://youtu.be/JHKW3tiQ5Kw

Explaining the concept behind the video, he continues: “Comfortable is a song about coming to terms with all of the things you hate about yourself and your current life situations. To portray this we wanted to remain hidden for the majority of the video as a way to express how we often hide away all of our worst problems and worries.”

Recorded over a 3-week period in February, the band joined Ian Sadler (ROAM, Homebound) to begin piecing together Staring At The Sun, drawing in influence from the weighty emo of groups like BasementTitle Fight and Citizen but adding a colour and shape that can only come from life in the North West of England. 

A bold step in the band’s ascent, ‘Staring At The Sun’, aims to hold up a mirror to the human condition, embracing both the good and the bad, as vocalist, Danny Reposar, explains: “At the time of writing the track we were all going through a lot of troubles and setbacks within our personal lives; death, grievance and heartbreak to name a few. We wanted to write a record that ebbed and flowed in a way that our emotions were at the time of writing. The highest of highs and the lowest of lows. From being uninspired, to a major musical breakthrough, to grieving the loss of a loved one. The record is a reflection of our everyday lives in and out of the band and is something I hope a lot of people resonate with.”

Looking to build on previous support from the likes of Dead PressDiscovered MagazineNew Noise MagPunknews.org and curation on Spotify’s New Punk Tracks and The Sceneplaylists, Decay are a band on a mission. Tour dates to be announced in due course in accordance with public health announcements. 

The album is available to pre-order now digitally, on CD and in limited black/orange vinyl:https://smarturl.it/DecaySATS

Staring At The Sun is released 10th July via Fox Records.


1. Staring At The Sun
2. September 27th
3. Empty Feeling
4. Ache
5. Feel Better
6. Hold On
7. Misery
8. Endless Silence
9. Comfortable
10. 23