Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

DZ DEATHRAYS Release Huge New Guitar Anthem ‘All Or Nothing’

22nd January 2021

Alcopop! Records are fired up to present DZ Deathrays’ latest single ‘All or Nothing’, lifted from their forthcoming fifth studio albumPositive Rising: Part 2 (set for release on Friday 9th July 2021), the highly anticipated follow up to 2019’s Positive Rising: Part 1.

Stream and share: https://smarturl.it/dzallornothing

Coated in classic DZ Deathrays punk attitude, the single demands attention for what DZ do best: towering layers of guitar and heavy rock and roll riffs, with this sonic masterpiece giving another small peek into the new world of DZ Deathrays and just what Positive Rising: Part 2 has in store for fans.

With its first play Down Under yesterday on triple J’s Drive, ‘All or Nothing’ is a testament to the objects that serve as reminders of home when the band are far from it.

“It’s reminiscent of touring life and the idea that something like a guitar can bring so much joy and adventure to our lives,” vocalist and guitarist Shane Parsons explains.  

One of the hardest songs on the record to finish, Parsons rewrote the music over and over in different keys “to try see where it would go”. After six attempts it wound up right where it started: as a rollicking, garage epic that shifts key from verse to chorus. In other words: a classic DZ Deathrays song. “It’s the flip-side to some of the other tracks that look out into the world: this one looks into our little world.”

‘All or Nothing’ follows previously-released anthemic sonic pep talk and lead single ‘Fired Up’ which was eaten up by fans and critics alike, seeing adds to international rock playlists on Spotify (250k plays) and Apple Music, hitting the 9th most played song on triple j just last week and receiving coverage from Rolling StoneNMEUPSETBlunt Mag and more.

Recently dropping the heartfelt acoustic version of the track while in isolation, DZ took a step back from their punchy riffs to substitute with a mix of soothing guitar and cello, completely transforming the high energy tune into a romantic ballad.

Just before Christmas, DZ sent listeners into a frenzy when teaming up with one of their favourite bands, WAAX, to deliver two absolutely belting covers—DZ reworking ‘FU’ and WAAX bringing their signature style to a rendition of ‘Fired Up’—both bands molding the other’s song into passionate, head-banging goodness that demands to be listened to at full volume.

In other news, in celebration of their forthcoming album Positive Rising: Part 2, DZ have collaborated with the legends at Built To Spill to launch their own wine‘DZ Deathrays Positive Sparkling Cremant’—party fizz for one of Australia’s most high energy bands. The special release Pet Nat is made up of certified organic chenin blanc from Margaret River, WA. Positive Sparkling Cremant is finished like traditional sparkling wine, making it the ultimate thirst crusher, yet still ultra-crisp and clean.

Fans can order this limited-edition Pet Nat bundled with a digital pre-order of Positive Rising: Part 2 via Built To Spill while stocks last.

Positive Rising: Part 2 is released 9th July 2021 via Alcopop! Records and I OH YOU

Positive Rising: Part 2 tracklist:

1. Skeleton Key
2. Fear The Anchor (feat. Ecca Vandal)
3. All Or Nothing
4. Kerosene
5. Fired Up
6. Riff City
7. Make Yourself Mad
8. Golden Retriever
9. Swept Up
10. Run The Red
11. Positive Rising

Tagged: DZ Deathrays