Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

Kamikaze Girls Sign To Big Scary Monsters

21st April 2017

Leeds-based duo Kamikaze Girls are extremely pleased to announce they have signed to Big Scary Monsters Recording Company and will release their forthcoming debut album Seafoam on 9th June 2017. Preorders are live now at www.bsmrocks.com

Alongside the news, the band have revealed a stint of June 2017 UK tour dates with Watford indie-punks Nervus as well as a string of festival appearances including The Great Escape, 2000 Trees and Truck Festival to name just a few (full details below).

To celebrate all this, the pair have today shared a brand new video for ‘Berlin’, the first track to be taken from the record.
Watch Here: 

Commenting on the album, vocalist Lucinda Livingstone says: “Coming off tour in November 2016 without a penny to our name and nothing on the other side of the airport was tough. It was quite a low few months for me as I didn’t have a steady place to live and we just had the album recording looming over us.

“I was driving myself crazy most days. We had a good routine on tour and it was just all lost. A lot of Seafoam is written from that perspective, just being in a hole with nowhere to go, feeling a bit numb to everything I guess.”

Welcomed with open arms into the UK’s burgeoning and ever-developing DIY/punk scene with their 2016 EP SAD, and counting the likes of Petrol Girls, Personal Best, Great Cynics and The Winter Passing as not just contemporaries, but comrades, with Seafoam the band are firmly placed to deliver a record that both underpins their roots, and takes giant leaps forward in the quality and substance of their output.

Following a groundswell of early support for the duo from the likes of Clash Magazine, She Shreds, Rock Sound, Drowned In Sound, Upset, Louder Than War, Nerdist and Punktastic, 2017 looks set to take things up a gear for Kamikaze Girls. Sad girls to the front.

Seafoam tracklist:

  1. One Young Man
  2. Berlin
  3. Teenage Feelings
  4. Good For Nothing
  5. KG Go To The Pub (ft. Ren, Petrol Girls)
  6. Lights & Sounds
  7. Deathcap
  8. Weaker Than
  9. Unhealthy Love
  10. I Don’t Want To Be Sad Forever

Kamikaze Girls 2017 Tour Dates:

28th April – DIY Pop Fest, London
23rd April – Hyde Park Book Club, Leeds (Just Lucinda)
6th May – Deadpunk Fest, Bristol
20th May – Great Escape Festival
3rd June – Matrix Bar, Grimsby w/ Ghouls
10th June – Gullivers, Manchester w/ Happy Accidents + Hot Mass
20th June – Conroy’s Basement – Dundee w/ Nervus
21st June – Edinburgh – Bannermans w/ Nervus
22nd June – Wharf Chambers, Leeds w/ Nervus
23rd June – The Smokehouse, Ipswitch w/ Nervus
24th June – Sebright Arms, London (FREE) w/ Nervus
25th June – White Lion, Watford w/ Nervus
26th June – The Alex, Southampton w/ Nervus
27th June – The Hope & Ruin, Brighton w/ Nervus
28th June – Edge of the Wedge w/ Nervus
29th June – Buffalo, Cardiff w/ Nervus
6-8th July – 2000 Trees Festival (Playing on Sat 8th)
21st-23rd July – Truck Festival (Playing on Sat 22nd)
27th July – The Adelphi, Hull