Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

Ones To Watch 2020: MARIGOLDS

29th November 2019

Norwich indie/emo quintet Marigolds are delighted to announce that their second EP Hot Springs will be released on 20th March 2020 via Beth Shalom Records. To celebrate the news, the band have released lead single ‘Everglades’, out now on all good digital service providers.

Commenting on the new single, the band say: “This track was a step away from some of the existing Marigolds discography and was the beginning of us defining our new sound. The track delves into almost country and folk terrain, with swooning guitar melodies and interweaving harmonies. Taking influence from artists like Joni Mitchell, we wanted to tell a story from the retrospective vision of an old couple, looking back on their time together.”

‘Everglades’ ushers in a new direction for the band, and sets the tone for the upcoming EP—the first to be released from the quintet following the addition of new vocalist and keyboard player Poppy Johnson in April 2019, whose delicate vocals and ambient synths have fleshed out the Marigolds sound effortlessly.

Comprised of four tracks, forthcoming release Hot Springs is built upon a solid foundation of synth-pop melodies and Midwest emo sensibilities. Ultimately, it’s a vital step forward for Marigolds, each track brimming with versatility and possessing a unique identity, whilst also being able to sit cohesively as a body of work. The new songs on the EP are accompanied by some rebooted acoustic renditions of older Marigolds material, allowing the band to bridge the gap between both the old sound, and the new.

Formed at the start of 2016, releasing music independently and going on to support Spring King, Turnover, Glitterer, Drug Church, and Gaffa Tape Sandy, the band have to date stayed primarily under the radar outside their home county, but have recently found themselves exploring further afield from their Norfolk base. In their few short years together, Marigolds have so far released three stand alone singles—’Short Shorts’ (2016), ‘Slept Out’ (2018), and ‘Nerves’ (2019)—and their 2017 debut EP Asleep In The Sun.

With the five piece describing their genre as “summer”, and their music as “colourful waves of sound”, you’d actually be hard-pressed to paint a better picture of what to expect from their up-tempo and positive mélange of influences, but we’ll give it a go: with one foot planted firmly in the indie and folk world of layered guitars and complex, intertwined melodies, the band marry an ambitious, experimental edge with a sumptuous and lush wash of emo and shoegaze influences, resulting in a sun-soaked, hazy sound.

Picking up early support from Huw Stephens at BBC Radio One, The Line of Best Fit, Fresh On The Net, Amazing Radio, Discovered Magazine, BBC Introducing, and more, the five piece are excellently placed to make an ever bigger splash in 2020.

Further details of Hot Springs and live dates TBA.

‘Everglades’ is out now via Beth Shalom Records