Wall of Sound PR

Get email updates

SPQR Announce Ribbons Rarities & Back Catalogue Reissue

14th August 2020

Liverpool art-rock band SPQR are pleased to announce Ribbons, a brand new collection of unreleased material, rarities and back catalogue reissues, set for release on 14th August 2020 via the band’s own label Nuthin Good Records.

Stream in full: http://spqr.fanlink.to/Ribbons

Stream unreleased early track ‘Fantasy Romantasy’ out now: https://spqr.fanlink.to/FantasyRomantasy

Commenting on the release, front man Peter Harrison says: “As a general ‘rule’ in my life I try never to look back. Instead, and especially when it comes to writing music, I tend to steam-train forward into a new genre every other week, never stopping to see if it makes sense or fits with what came before. Because why should it? But when the notion of releasing a collection of all the songs I wrote in the ‘early days’ began to arise in conversations, I felt a lot of nostalgia for a very different time in my life and subsequently the band.” 

“Though that nostalgia is liberally coated with the embarrassment that comes with hindsight—partly due to the memories it conjures, but also the crippling naivety—I know that there’s almost definitely going to be a time that everything I am doing in the present will also become coated in that same wincing nostalgia. In short, I thought ‘f*ck it’. I’m gonna hate all of this one day.”

“These songs are not the songs I’d write today. What was once a blistering outward-facing rage has become a much quieter acceptance of the fragility of simply existing within a space in which I feel I do not and cannot fit. BUT! These songs are a piece of the puzzle, and I’d be an idiot not to accept the role they played in the first few years. So if you’re listening for the first time…enjoy! And good luck.”

Alongside the news, the band are also delighted to announce a run of 7” singles by Flying Vinyl featuring ‘No Brain, No Pain’ and ‘Just Sumfin’ from their latest EP. The record is a very limited edition of 90 with beautiful original artwork by drummer Bex Denton, released on 11th September 2020 and available to preorder now.

Rapidly gaining a legion of fans both at media (CLASH, The Line of Best Fit, The Quietus, Gigwise and many more) and amongst the general public, the band have also been regularly heavily championed byEverything Everything and have a cameo appearance in their latest music video for ‘In Birdsong’.

SPQR’s latest EP, No Brain, No Pain, is out now and has received radio support from BBC 6music, Radio X, BBC Introducing and Amazing Radio, with heavy playlist and editorial support from DSPs. The record sold out of its first vinyl pressing via pre-order through Qrates, and the quartet have just revealed a very special version of the EP with commentary by front man Peter Harrison exclusively for Spotify.

During lockdown the band have been busy working on new material, and also appeared as part of the Music Venue Trust’s Virtual Gig Night in partnership with Show Stream TV.

The band have an upcoming clutch of rescheduled festival appearances confirmed at Hit The North, Liverpool Sound City, and Live At Leeds, with new dates pending announcement.

Ribbons is released 14th August 2020 via Nuthin Gud Records

Ribbons tracklist:

1. Talking To The Dead
3. Fantasy Romantasy
4. Push Pull 
7. Life Would Be Easy
8. Whatever Weather
9. Dystopia

Ribbons artwork:

Tagged: San Lorenz